Posted by: seekingacademia | March 7, 2011

Advisor/Committee Drama

You know, I must say, Annie, I respect you so much for talking about your advisor dramas because while my situation is in no way as severe, I can’t talk about it.

I oscillate between ignoring it, stressing about it. I don’t want to talk to anyone in my department about it because of how I think they will now think of me. And I bet they all know, since you know, we gossip as much as we breathe here. And yah, I am too afraid to write anything here in case anyone ever reads it. Slim to none chance, but still. I am in a precarious position, am quite befuddled on how I got there, and feel naive and silly.

Naive and silly for thinking, well I read all those blogs before I started grad school and I talked to tons of people, and plenty told me it would be hellish, but I thought, oh no, not for me. I know what I’m getting into, and it will be great! Because I love! my! project! and! research!

Right….

 

Responses

  1. Oh, memories… I don’t think I know anyone who didn’t have hellish moments/months in grad school. I’m not going to say it’s part of the process because sometimes there are blatantly cruel and wrong actions and reactions and steps should be taken to correct it. It’s a line each of us has to define and I respect battles for respect as much as quieter suffering in order to get through it.

    For me, I prayed and talked to friends or family and did my best to move forward while encouraging the community to be better for future students. I hope your situation improves soon and that you look back on this as a bump in the road.


Leave a Reply

Categories

