Posted by: seekingacademia | October 1, 2009

Random Bullets of It’s Been a long time and I’m sick again

  • I have been sick. The first part of the sick is going away, and I feel like I’m developing the sick, 2.0. throat is better. But I feel nauseous and on the verge of vomiting all day long. And super weak. See, it’s times like these when I think, there is no fricking way, no matter how much I prayed, or etc, that I would be ok being pregnant. Freaking nausea wipes me out. I can’t work or sleep. I would be the worst academic ever, yes, I’ll gp up fro tenure around age 50. taking you know, 9 months pre and like 2 years post off per pregnancy. Plus my future husband would have to be a saint. Yah right on that.
  • I had the scariest thought, while sick in bed yesterday. What if being sick means never getting married and that I can’t take care of kids.
  • I havent read blogs in a bajillion years. I miss Katie and PhDMe. Somehow they got to the double digits and I wanted to catch up all at once and they along with some others have been neglected. I’m sorry ladies.
  • OMG. in getting those links I see that I have missed a lot. Oh dear. I am thinking and praying for both you ladies.
  • It’s cold here. Grad school is hard. Theory is hard. Maybe I’m not cut out for this.
  • Parents need friends. And I’m too sick and busy to know what to do.
  • I think I do here less b/c of facebook. It’s easier and faster. But I do miss the blogging and community, as jo(e) mentioned on twitter the other day. I never realized how much time grad school plus sick people plus trying to write papers would prevent me from blogging.
  • Nausea is horrible. I’m sorry I’m so whiny.
  • I like someone but am worried. What’s new.
  • Worst, being sick totally has made be behind in work, but also, ruined the weekend I was so excitedly waiting for. Freakin germs.
Responses

  1. you are cut out for this. and you should definitely go catch up with phdme.

  2. And you wanted me to move near you? I don’t want your sickness! I’m dealing with my own on again off again cold. Nausea is the worst–I’m right there with you on it being a deterrent to getting pregnant. (thus, adoption-yes, so that I won’t throw up!)

    Anastasia is right, you can do it. And Theory can be fun–you’ll get more of it when you start teaching it, trust me. Now go get some blankets and tea.

  3. thanks ladies. i did finally catch up with phdme, sad…

    and RL, i think you should move here *after* i am better from sick. then we can not get pregnant together. and not throw up.

  4. Being sick makes EVERYTHING in life feel impossible.

  5. hello,

    Thank you for the great quality of your blog, every time i come here, i’m amazed.

    black hattitude.


Leave a Reply

Categories

