Posted by: seekingacademia | January 7, 2009

Answering Questions

Rented Life was kind enough to ask me the five questions which  seem to be going around the interwebs again. So thank you so much! It’s great to think about some different stuff right now and get my mind off what I have recently been thinking/worrying about….

Here are the rules:
“Want to be part of it? Follow these instructions:
1. Leave me a comment saying, “Interview me.”
2. I will respond by emailing you five questions. I get to pick the questions.
3. You will update your blog with the answers to the questions.
4. You will include this explanation and an offer to interview someone else in the same post.
5. When others comment asking to be interviewed, you will ask them five questions.”

 

1. Should it be mandatory for Americans to be fluent in a second language, and if so at what age should they start it in schools? (I’m not asking which language, that’s be a mess to decide.)

Yes, I think learning languages is a great skill, and does great things for your mind. I don’t know that it should be mandatory to be fluent, as not everyone is good at picking up languages, but I think it’s a good learning experience. So I think it should be started in school, as early as kindergarden. But you know, in a different way than you learn it as an adult or a teen, but I think exposure early on, and then appropriate school/writing exercises in elementary school all the way to high school.

 
2. The Boy is not Catholic, right? How important is similar faiths in a relationship, for you? (I ask this because husband and I started out in different places and we still are to some degree and it’s been an interesting journey.) 

Similar faiths are very important to me, because my faith is an important part of my life and my identity. The Boy is from the South and brought up Evangelical Christian. He doesn’t agree with some of the things he learned as being proper  “Christian” doctrine or practice growing up, which is great because I was scared of that before meeting him as I have met some interesting people who I feel have misinterpreted or are using Christianity and the Bible to fufill their own desires/goals/opinions. But thankfully, we agree on most main things, we see compromise as possible on raising the kids since the main tenets of our religions are the same, heck they are all part of the same religion, Christianity! And while I don’t agree with him on everything, I think there is room for compromise and growth/change, since I recognize that we as individuals are constantly changing and growing as people, and also in our faith and our relationship with God. In the end, one can only teach children what they themselves believe in, and the traditions/culture, and then each child/individual must make the choice for themselves, and come to their own understanding of their relationship with God and faith. 

 

3. You survived your first semester back at school. (Congrats!!) Why did you decide to go back in the first place? 

Thanks, RL! I think I had always meant to go, I thought, I just wanted to be sure, first. I didn’t know if I could make it in academia, it seems so hard, and if that was what I really wanted. But in the end, I can’t see myself doing anything else. And yes it will be hard, but it’s so great too! And second, that I made a good decision on the place since I would be there for awhile. Also, I meant to go sooner than has happened, but you know, life happens. 

4. Any New Year’s Resolutions? If no, why not?

No, I never make any around New Year’s, I mean I sometimes do, but I never remember them. I usually do make resolutions to do something or improve something, or start something, but at various times within the year. Like at Lent, and Advent, in November when I did Inadiwrimo, when the semester starts. 

5. If you could visit anywhere in the world for a week, where would it be and why? 

Ooooh, well that is a tough one because I’d like to go everywhere! And since your question says could, I am approaching this hypothetical with no limits, i.e., my real life circumstances, money, fears, immunizations, don’t count. I would have to pick somewhere with realllllly good food, since food is important. I would pick somewhere I could do hiking and other fun stuffs, and also a beach. Which is a hard place to think of. I think I would pick a beach place with good food, maybe an island, hmm, where is that? I don’t where this place is, but I imagine an island in the Caribbean or in South America. 

And a bonus in case one of the above is uncomfortable for you:
If I came to visit, what would we do?

Ooh, a fun one! I’ll answer them all! So, first, we would go out to dinner somewhere yummy! And talk lots and lots. Or we could make dinner at my house, so we’d go to the Nice Grocery Store I think you’re familiar with ;o), and buy yummy stuff. Then we’d go home and with a couple drinks in hand, make yummy food, and then eat yummy food. We would finish dinner with some coffee and dessert, and then watch some trashy reality TV, i.e., Top Model, or Gossip Girl, or something reality that it’s easy to get into, make fun of the contestants or the show. Play some fun board games. Then drink tea or coffee and go to sleep. The next morning, sleeping in will be required. Then making waffles or some other yummy breakfast, more TV, talking, games. Since clearly you can’t drive back home after just dinner! Oh, and somewhere in there we would need to take funny anonymous pictures to post on our blogs.

 

Responses

  1. As a former foreign language teacher (Way before the whole law thing), I completely agree that learning a second language is important!

    I know that grocery store!!!!

    OK, interview me!!!! (seekingsolace.blog@gmail.com)

  2. Ok, we’re working out this visiting thing as soon as your back on the East Coast. That sounds like so much fun!

    Other comments:
    1. I agree. I felt so out of place when we went overseas and couldn’t communicate with a soul! If we knew just a little some something else it might have been easier. But I feel like many Americans are SO stupid about the language thing.

    2. I’ve met those same interesting people. And it’s refreshing to hear someone recognize that the roots of all these are the same. My one pastor was married to a Catholic actually (she’s presbyterian).
    3. I couldn’t do it but I’m proud of you.
    4. I never remember resolutions either.
    5. I actually know of a place, but I’ll e-mail it to you. I’m trying to go there in April.


Leave a Reply

Categories

