Posted by: seekingacademia | October 3, 2008

Lots of Stuff

Hello blogland, yes I am still alive. Just been so freaking busy that I barely have had time to twitter, let alone read blogs or write on mine.

What have I been up to? here it is in random bullet form….

  • shitloads of work and reading, and reading things I am not particularly interested in…
  • finding I have no time to work on my own manuscripts and research, and that is SUPER frustrating
  • falling down the stairs
  • staving off *fingers crossed* another cold thanks to Emergen-C
  • dealing with my father having another mini-stroke.
  • finally convinced my sister to go home from Tiny Foreign country until December when I can go home. Now to deal with the stress of my sister messing things up and/or making it worse. She is already “so frustrated” that she has to go home since she *was* going to Spain next week… sorry to mess up your fun. We can be so inconsiderate sometimes, can’t we.
  • And maybe the most fun thing I’ve done? Met up with a blogger!!!

So I met my second blogger ever yesterday, the lovely Jo(e). (It was her 42nd meet-up, so clearly I was the meet-up virgin). We discovered we were living fairly close to each other over Twitter. So I guess it was a twitter meet-up too?  I must say, I was a little nervous meeting her as she is what I consider, a big league blogger. And me, well I’m not sure I even have a league. But that didn’t matter, because she was sooooo nice! And we talked lots and I wish we could have kept on talking but I had to run to an evening class, drat those evening classes! She took some pictures in the end of me trying to be funny and also a shoe picture. I was unprepared photographically speaking. It was great to meet a blogger from my area! It’s also funny to think that she is from here — the entire time I have read her blog I have assumed she is from another state, just based on the photos. So that was a nice surprise! I don’t know really what else I can say… we talked about our real lives and that was fun to hear, but I can’t really talk about that. Though I think I will always think of Boy in Black as being named Boy in Black.

And maybe most importantly, I heard more about the naked blogger picture tradition, though I am not taking part!

We are going to meet again since we are so close and both like talking a lot (even with our hands!)

Now I have to read tons of stuff I’m not so interested in. And tonight going out for Mexican food with my lovely grad school lady friends! Then back to my house to watch the debate and laugh and scream at the TV.

Responses

  1. you can be in my league

  2. Oh, that’s awesome! Jo(e) was one of the first bloggers I ever met – she’s much fun to talk to!

  3. It was so great to meet you! I’m looking forward to doing it again.

    And of course, eventually, we have to talk about the little matter of the naked blogging tradition ….

  4. thanks anastasia! and yes, meeting jo(e) was fun! though i doubt she will *ever* convince me to go naked!

  5. So glad you had a great blogger meet up!

    Hope you are OK after your fall. I do the same thing every year.

  6. Sorry to hear about your dad. Hope things work out with the sister.


Leave a Reply

Categories

