Posted by: seekingacademia | August 3, 2008

Single and Carless in Suburbia

Ok, I am finally moved in! I have only a couple of boxes to unpack still, or rather, figure out where to put. And I finally got internet and cable set up, man was I in withdrawal! Though I think I had to not have those distractions so that I could unpack.

I love my new house! It’s not entirely mine, but still. Oh the joys of having a dishwasher and garbage disposal! And a room for just my office, yay! My bedroom is quite empty though. And I think I have way too many square feet for just me. Basically, I could sleep in a different room each night for each day of the week if I wanted to.

But I’m just hoping that things can be set up well here and that my parents will come soon. I am hoping to convince them for December. Aside from missing them a great deal, I know I can help, especially as my father recently, since I’ve been gone, has not been as well as he was — more confused and not taking all his meds.

It is strange living in the suburbs alone. I have lived alone before, but always in an apartment, and near campuses/center of town areas. I have met some neighbors, they are really nice! Though I seem to be living in a very gossipy neighborhood, but whatever. I like gossip as much as the next person. They all thought that I was some rich investor type person who bought here and was going to flip the house, all because I am from California. Yah, were they wrong.

Another thing about being in charge of running and taking care of a house, you really do spend a lot at Home Depot. I never really got it, but now I do. I had to buy a dehumidifier for teh basement, and man are those things expensive, speaking of which, I have to empty it often — yuck for climbing extra stairs. Replacement lights. Cleaning supplies. Andย  had to buy my own garbage can, the city doesn’t provide them! Lame, I say.

And what’s the deal with double hung windows? Whose bright idea was that? Definitely not meant for short people. Especially as I need a step stool just to close each window at night since the top always slides down.

Oh, and the kitchen faucet drips. Need to buy a new one. Nice. What sort of home inspection doesn’t mention that. I think a lot of these issues are issues b/c I was far away during the buying/closing process.

Yah, and the driveway needs to be re-sealed. Stupid black asphalt. Hmm, apparently this has become a gripe about home ownership.

The other thing people are generally surprised about is that I don’t have a car. A 2 car garage with no car? How can that be! I should quickly buy two cars to fill up that space! I’m planning on walking and using public transit so let them think what they want.

Basically, this post is to say, I’m back! And man do I have a lot to do re: house and starting at New U. Speaking of which, I need pseudonyms for new city and new u. And I have over 1000 blog posts to read. yah, um that may take awhile.

Responses

  1. Tag!

  2. I’m so glad you’re getting settled and seem so happy! The time at Home Depot will eventually decrease – I was there a lot at first too. Do we get to see house pictures? It sounds lovely!

  3. The difficult part of owning a house all by myself is that when little things go wrong, I get overwhelmed. I’d like to work through them with someone else who can brainstorm solutions with me. Puzzling through that stuff is no fun for me. I hope it’s more enjoyable for you?

    I think it’s great that you’re going for public transportation!

  4. oh? I put a response on my blog to your question about fireworks photography — edited that post.

  5. Oooh, a dishwasher! Nice. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Glad you’re back! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Glad to hear you are all moved in.
    Maybe close up some of those rooms you don’t plan to use right away and pretend they don’t exist.
    Hopefully you can convert some of your car loving neighbors into non car people.
    I’m almost all moved in here in cali!

  7. thanks all!

    B*, thanks for the info on your photo, it is seriously so amazing. and yah, when stuff goes wrong, it is frustrating bc you know only you have to deal with it! Jennie, i have closed some of the rooms, and hope you are enjoying your new place! and Katie, i think I will do some house pics, but i’ll wait until after I clean a bit!

  8. Yeah, you’re back! Even with all the yard work and things to fix and appliances to update, I love homeownership. It’s just so nice to have my very own space. Enjoy!

  9. I bookmarked your blog, thanks for sharing this very interesting post


Leave a Reply

Categories

